TRNovice’s Climbing Training Diary

My bike

Posted in General Cycling Post by Peter Thomas on 6 December 2008

I have lots of posts here referring to cycling and so I thought that I would post a photo of my bike.

Focus Lost Lagoon 2007

Focus Lost Lagoon 2007

It is a Focus Lost Lagoon Hybrid, which I initially bought for commuting with the idea that I might do some light off-roading as well. It came with 700c rims, narrow cyclo-cross tyres and a rather less beefy fork; the claim being that it would “handle any terrain” (the original spec was something like 2009’s version). After having little control at MTB centres (and bursting two tyres), I decided that maybe I needed to do something about this. It now has a Rock Shox Reba SL Air Pop-Loc 29er fork. I still use the cyclo-cross tyres it came with for road cycling, but in the image it has rather more serious Maxxis Ignitors. It wasn’t on the stand purely for photographic purposes, but as I was getting it ready (and changing the tyres) for some planned MTBing tomorrow.
 
Addendum 1

And just for contrast, here it is, rather less clean, after said MTBing: –

Rather muddier bikes

Rather muddier bikes


 
Addendum 2

Given the number of people who have posted full specifications of their bikes on the LinkedIn.com Awesome Mountain Biking group, I thought that I had better do so too: –

Fork Rock Shox Reba SL Dual Air with Pushloc (upgraded from original spec.)
Shifting System/Rear Derailleur Shimano Deore LX
Shift Lever Shimano Deore Rapid Fire
Chainset Shimano Deore
Bottom Bracket Shimano Splined
Gear Ratio Front: 44/32/22, Rear: 11-32
Handlebar Concept SL Lowriser
Stem Concept SL
Saddle Selle Italia X2
Seat Post Concept SL, 2-bolts
Brakes Magura Julie hydraulic, disc brake
Front Hub Shimano Deore, quick release
Rear Hub Shimano Deore, quick release
Rims Rodi Airliner-I disc
Pedals Shimano M520 clipless (upgraded from original spec.)

 
 

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] 20 km MTB ride round Swinley Forest, mostly sticking to the mail paths as the single-track consisted mostly of rutted, then frozen mud. Lovely day nevertheless. No ankle problems either :-). However it did take forever to clean the mud off of the bikes. […]

  2. vic said, on 18 January 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Warning!!!
    Clipless pedals are very dangerous.
    I’ve been riding bicycles continuously since I was 5. Have even commuted to work year-round in suburb north of NYC, Had been using Shimno clipless pedals for about 10 years and had several occasions when I couldn’t release from the pedal and dumped over. The last time, at age 58, caused my right hip to fracture. I needed 2 surgeries and 6 months of rehab. After the accident I found out about two other cyclists who suffered hip fractures because they couldn’t release from their pedals.
    Needless to say I took them off my Trek and will never use them again.
    The Pain was not worth the gain.

  3. Peter Thomas said, on 20 January 2009 at 10:45 am

    Sheesh! Sounds awful. The only time I have ever had a problem was when trying (fruitlessly) to plug on through very deep, sticky mud. I eventually cam e to a complete stop and toppled sideways very slowly, but in such a way that I couldn’t de-clip. In that case I just landed ungracefully in the mud with no harm to anything but my dignity. On every other occasion, I have de-clipped without even trying. How frimly do you have you pedals release mechanism set?


Leave a Reply

